5 Stages of Climate Change Grief

Faye Baker
11 min readSep 27, 2022

Which stage are you at?

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

You have probably heard of the 5 stages of grief (or 7 in some psychology books) and it feels like we are all living through those stages when it comes to climate change, to some degree or another. Like grief, some of us have been more affected than others and some people are at different stages in the process; whether it is denial, anger, bargaining, depression, or…

Faye Baker

Writer, thinker and inveterate maker. Part-time Cognitive scientist. Retired technical author and software developer. Avid reader about climate and ecosystems.